Personal Data Dashboard

It would be amazing if a statistician would follow me for the whole day and measure whatever I wanted to measure. Some great examples could be measuring the number of calories I consume or how many kilometers I move every day in order to keep track of my health. However, what I find as some of the most useful information are the number of times I sigh a day, and the measurement of the length of hair that grows each day.

Being high school students, we all undergo stress due to the overwhelming amount of homework or tests. Experiencing the stress myself, I realized that knowing how many times I sigh a day could be quite useful. Using the number of sighs, I could better understand both the mental and physical states of myself every day. For instance, if I sighed five times on Wednesday, eight times on Thursday, and ten times on Friday, it is obvious that I have been suffering from the work I was given that week. In that case, I would plan a more relaxed schedule during the weekend to free myself from the stress I had received during the weekdays. If I sigh only a couple of times during the weekdays, I would probably have more energy and strength remaining to use during the weekends. This way, I am able to make a perfect and efficient schedule that would enhance my working ability as well as my mood and physical condition.

For me, long hair is something that has been continued throughout almost all of my life. I don’t even remember the last time my hair was shorter than shoulder length. Since I love long hair and waiting for my hair to grow is one of the things I do every day, I thought that knowing the length of hair that grows each day would be something very interesting. As a matter of fact, I’m sure that many girls would agree with the curiosity of how fast our hair grows. It actually depends on the individual and is likely to be different for each person; however, we still try to find the average speed of hair growth for aesthetic purposes. Even though everybody knows that hair constantly grows, nobody can actually tell the exact measurement or speed of how fast our hair grows. The advantage of measuring the speed of my hair growth is that if I know how fast my hair grows, then I can calculate how often I need to cut my hair, and how much I should cut. Knowing all of this information accurately, having the perfect hair length would become possible eventually. Also, if I get a horrible haircut or cut my hair too short, I would know how many days, weeks, or even months it would take for me to grow it back to my original length.

Wanting to know how fast my hair grows would sound ludicrous to those who don’t understand the pain of a terrible haircut. However, it is simply for brief happiness of waiting for the remaining days to reach a certain length. Additionally, we usually sigh when we feel disheartened or stressed out so counting the number of sighs each day would indirectly show our mood during a certain day.

(545)

2 thoughts on “Personal Data Dashboard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *